Twenty Virginia Tech employees at Virginia Tech recently graduated from the university’s Academy for Leadership Excellence. The Class of 2004 was recently honored at the university’s annual Academy for Leadership Excellence recognition program held each summer.

Linda Woodard, assistant vice president for personnel services, presented each graduate with an Academy for Leadership Excellence Fellow Certificate at the ceremony.

Established in 1993, the Academy for Leadership Excellence program is a way to promote leadership development to mid-level managers and supervisors at the university. During the monthly sessions, participants are involved in various leadership development activities, such as: self-assessments of interpersonal and leadership skills, workshops on team building and group process; and discussions on recent books on personal development, leadership and organizational culture. Participants must be nominated by their supervisor; be noted for fairness, openness and concern for others; and have the potential for growth and leadership.

The following members of the Academy for Leadership Excellence's Class of 2003-04 received their "Fellow" certificates

  • Greg Beecher, of Roanoke, associate director for event services, University Unions and Student Activities;
  • Keith Boyd, of Pulaski, director of mechanical utilities, Utility Distribution;
  • Al Cooper, of Blacksburg, programmer analyst, Budget and Financial Planning;
  • Vijji De Datta, of Blacksburg, budget manager , Facilities Administration and Supervision;
  • Jeffrey Earley, of Christiansburg, budget manager, Budget and Financial Planning;
  • Rosa Jones, of Christiansburg, coordinator of multicultural programs, University Unions and Student Activities;
  • Carrie Kirk, of Blacksburg, public relations assistant, President's Office;
  • Cathy Lally, of Blacksburg, assistant to the vice president, Virginia Tech Alumni Association;
  • Roberto Mayorga, of Blacksburg, assistant to the dean for operations and fiscal affairs, Graduate School;
  • Mark Owczarski, of Blacksburg, director of news and information, University Relations;
  • Diana Ridgwell, of Hardy, academic and career advisor/recruiter, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences;
  • Roby Robinson, of Blacksburg, occupational safety engineer, Environmental Health and Safety;
  • Terri Sadler, of Pembroke, conference registrar, Outreach and International Affairs;
  • Bradley Scott, of Christiansburg, coordinator of disbursements and problem resolution, Controller's Office;
  • Anne Sheppard, of Blacksburg, manager of student computing programs, University Computing Support;
  • Miya Simpson, of Blacksburg, director of McNairs Scholars Program, Academic Enrichment and Excellence;
  • Nini Smiley, of Blacksburg, assistant director, Multicultural Academic Opportunities Program;
  • Judy Watson, of Blacksburg, helpdesk manager, University Computing Support;
  • Karen Watson, of Blacksburg, coordinator of academic support, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences.

Founded in 1872 as a land-grant college, Virginia Tech has grown to become among the largest universities in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Today, Virginia Tech’s eight colleges are dedicated to putting knowledge to work through teaching, research, and outreach activities and to fulfilling its vision to be among the top research universities in the nation. At its 2,600-acre main campus located in Blacksburg and other campus centers in Northern Virginia, Southwest Virginia, Hampton Roads, Richmond, and Roanoke, Virginia Tech enrolls more than 28,000 full- and part-time undergraduate and graduate students from all 50 states and more than 100 countries in 180 academic degree programs.