The Virginia Tech Board of Visitors met Nov. 7-8 for its quarterly meeting.

Among the issues reviewed by the board was a teaching and research agreement between the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine and the University of Maryland, Baltimore. The collaboration agreement paves the way for joint research projects in biomedical and public health research, faculty and student exchanges, and the development of dual degree programs that would be mutually beneficial to both institutions. The agreement will take effect next year.

During the meeting, Virginia Tech President Charles Steger announced the university and The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR) of Rockville, Md., signed a memorandum of understanding. The new alliance will enrich the university's basic research capacity in the life sciences and enhance TIGR's computational and experimental capacity. The agreement anticipates joint research projects, shared use of related facilities, adjunct faculty appointments, and opportunities for students to participate in research in areas of microbial, plant, and animal genomics and functional genomics, which have many applications to human health, agriculture, and biodefense.

Steger also issued a formal statement condemning the hate crime that occurred on campus earlier this fall and stating the university's resolve to address such acts. The statement can be found at

The board also reviewed and approved financial performance reports, approved a resolution to execute banking and financial security agreements and reviewed the most recent enrollment report.

The board put forth two resolutions to honor two university alumni killed in military action in Iraq. The resolutions honored First Lieutenant Jeffrey J. Kaylor, a 2001 graduate who died April 7, 2003 and First Lieutenant Timothy E. Price, a 2001 graduate who was killed Sept. 7

The board of visitors also approved the naming of the Harry and Patsy Williams Masters Studio in the proposed Bishop-Favrao Hall, the future home of the Department of Building Construction in the College of Architecture and Urban Studies; and the Ferguson Enterprises Interview Reception Area in the new Career Services Building.

In addition, Thomas Novak, professor and head of the Department of Mining and Mineral Engineering in the College of Science, was named the Charles T. Holland Professor and Nathaniel A White, Randolph Professor of Equine Surgery in the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine, was named the Jean Ellen Shehan Professor and Director of the Marion DuPont Scott Equine Medical Center in Leesburg, Va. S. K. De Datta was honored with the Clifton Garvin Fellowship Award and five university professors were honored with emeritus status.

The next meeting of the full Virginia Tech Board of Visitors will be: March 13-14.