Jimmy T. Arnold, of Blacksburg, professor of mathematics in the College of Science at Virginia Tech, was conferred with the title "professor emeritus" by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors during the board's quarterly meeting Monday, Nov. 8.

The title of emeritus may be conferred on retired professors and associate professors, administrative officers, librarians, and exceptional staff members who have given exemplary service to the university and who are specially recommended to the board of visitors by Virginia Tech President Charles W. Steger. Nominated individuals who are approved by the board of visitors receive an emeritus certificate from the university.

A member of the Virginia Tech faculty since 1969, Arnold was a respected and popular teacher of a wide range of undergraduate and graduate mathematics courses, and he was instrumental in introducing the use of computer technology into the calculus sequence. He was extensively involved in service to the department and university having served on more than 30 different departmental committees.

Arnold was the author of 29 peer reviewed research articles in commutative algebra and was the recipient of a National Science Foundation research grant. He was co-author of four editions of a widely adopted undergraduate textbook in linear algebra. He was recognized with six Certificates of Teaching Excellence and was the recipient of the University Alumni Teaching Award.

Arnold received his bachelor's degree from Northeastern Louisiana University, and received a master's degree and Ph.D. from Florida State University.

The College of Science at Virginia Tech gives students a comprehensive foundation in the scientific method. Outstanding faculty members teach courses and conduct research in biology, chemistry, economics, geosciences, mathematics, physics, psychology, and statistics. The college is dedicated to fostering a research intensive environment and offers programs in nano-scale and biological sciences, information theory and science, and supports research centers—in areas such as biomedical and public health sciences, and critical technology and applied science—that encompass other colleges at the university. The College of Science also houses programs in pre-medicine and scientific law.

Founded in 1872 as a land-grant college, Virginia Tech has grown to become the largest university in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Today, Virginia Tech's eight colleges are dedicated to putting knowledge to work through teaching, research, and outreach activities, and to fulfilling its vision to be among the top research universities in the nation. At its 2,600-acre main campus located in Blacksburg, and other campus centers in northern Virginia, Hampton Roads, Richmond, and Roanoke, Virginia Tech enrolls 28,000 full- and part-time undergraduate and graduate students from all 50 states and more than 100 countries in 170 academic degree programs.