Deborah Martin Petrine, of Hardy, Va., will receive the Pamplin College of Business 2011 Distinguished Alumnus Award during the college’s commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 14, 2 p.m., at Cassell Coliseum. 

The college created the award in 1990 to honor alumni for outstanding career accomplishments and contributions to the college.

Petrine earned a bachelor’s degree in management in 1978. The president and owner of CCR Inc. (Commonwealth Care of Roanoke), she has extensive management knowledge and experience in the long-term health-care industry, including nursing and assisted living facilities and home health care.

She began her career in a nursing facility and worked her way up during her 20 years there to chief operating officer before leaving to found two successful long-term care nursing facility companies in Virginia. CCR, her current company, has grown to 11 skilled nursing facilities across Virginia, with more than 1,300 employees and annual revenues of more than $90 million.

She discussed her career in a talk, “Secretary to Owner: The Road to Ownership With a Few Bumps in Between,” as a Wachovia Distinguished Speaker earlier this semester.

Petrine has served as chair of the Virginia Health Care Association and was appointed to serve on the Governor’s Advisory Board on Revenue Estimates. She received the Virginia Health Care Association’s James G. Dunton Distinguished Service Award for Lifetime Achievement in 2005.

Active in university activities, Petrine is a member of Virginia Tech’s regional capital campaign committee, chairs the advisory board of the management department, and serves on the Futures Board of the Center for Gerontology and on the Women in Leadership and Philanthropy Council.

Previous recipients of Pamplin’s Distinguished Alumnus Award are: Henry Dekker (ACCT ’44) in 1990; Cliff Cutchins (ACCT ’44), 1991; John Peterson (ACCT ’36), 1992; George Dickerson (BAD ’41), 1993; Lloyd Sorenson (BAD ’53), 1994; John Rocovich (GBUS ’66), 1995; Charles Eaton (ACCT ’53), 1996; Ann Spencer (ACCT ’76, MBA ’84), 1997; Charles O. Strickler (BAD ’61), 1998; Gene Justice (BAD ’54), 1999; Robert Digges (BAD ’59), 2000; W. Denman Zirkle (BAD ’60), 2001; Mary F. McVay (ACCT ’78, MBA ’81), 2002; Ben J. Davenport Jr. (BAD ’64), 2003; Randy Thurman (ECON ’71), 2004; Bridget Ryan Berman (GBUS ’82), 2005; and Douglas C. Curling (ACCT ’76, MACCT ’77), 2006; Lynne Martin Doughtie (ACCT ’85), 2007; James E. Sullivan Jr. (ECON ’73), 2008; Kimble Reynolds Jr. (MKTG ’88, M.S./EDPE ’95), 2009; and James H. Hatch (MACCT ’72), 2010.

Learn more about the Pamplin College of Business Commencement.