The Virginia Tech Board of Visitors approved the following promotions, tenure, and continued appointments at its June 6 meeting.

Promotion to associate professor with tenure:

  • Jacob Barney, plant pathology, physiology, and weed science;
  • Maria Cassera, biochemistry;
  • Pearl Chiu, psychology;
  • Mark Cline, animal and poultry sciences;
  • Xinwei Deng, statistics;
  • Zachary Easton, biological systems engineering;
  • Matthew Eatherton, civil and environmental engineering;
  • Elizabeth Gilbert, animal and poultry sciences;
  • Ralph Hall, urban affairs and planning;
  • Erich Hester, civil and environmental engineering;
  • Brooks King-Casas, psychology;
  • Ugur Lel, finance, insurance and business law;
  • K. Todd Lowe, aerospace and ocean engineering;
  • Camillo Mariani, physics;
  • Holly Matusovich, engineering education;
  • Amrinder Nain, mechanical engineering;
  • Patricia Nickel, government and international affairs;
  • Guillaume Pilot, plant pathology, physiology, and weed science;
  • Chao Wang, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Megan Wawro, mathematics; and
  • Zheng Xiang, hospitality and tourism management.

Tenure at the currently held rank of associate professor:

  • Thomas Tucker, School of Visual Arts; and
  • Ryan Zimmerman, management.

Promotion to professor:

  • Kathleen Alexander, fish and wildlife conservation;
  • Nahum Arav, physics;
  • Rajesh Bagchi, marketing;
  • Scott Bailey, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Lisa Belden, biological sciences;
  • Thomas Burbey, geosciences;
  • Ali Butt, computer science;
  • Jessica Folkart, foreign languages and literatures;
  • David Hicks, School of Education/teaching and learning;
  • Robert Hicok, English;
  • Jennifer Irish, civil and environmental engineering;
  • Marcella Kelly, fish and wildlife conservation;
  • Jungmeen Kim-Spoon, psychology;
  • Jim Kuypers, communication;
  • Otto Lanz, small animal clinical sciences;
  • Chang Tien Lu, computer science;
  • Rory Maguire, crop and soil environmental sciences;
  • Marie Paretti, engineering education;
  • Katrina Powell, English;
  • John Rossmeisl, small animal clinical sciences;
  • Patrick Schaumont, electrical and computer engineering;
  • David Schmale, plant pathology, physiology, and weed science;
  • Elena Serrano, human nutrition, foods, and exercise;
  • Brett Shadle, history;
  • Pablo Sobrado, biochemistry;
  • Saied Taheri, mechanical engineering;
  • Lisa Tucker, School of Architecture + Design/interior design;
  • Edward Valeev, chemistry;
  • Boris Vinatzer, plant pathology, physiology, and weed science; and
  • Kang Xia, crop and soil environmental sciences.

Promotion to advanced instructor:

  • Shamindri Arachchige, chemistry;
  • Joshua Clemons, mathematics;
  • Renee Selberg-Eaton, human nutrition, foods, and exercise;
  • Jared Gibbs, English;
  • Andrea Hesp, foreign languages and literatures;
  • Nancy Lopez-Romero, foreign languages and literatures;
  • Thomas Reilly, marketing;
  • Jason Thweatt, electrical and computer engineering; and
  • Jason Wilson, mathematics.

Promotion to senior instructor:

  • Maggie Bump, chemistry;
  • Samuel Doak, agricultural technology;
  • Jackson Evans, biological sciences;
  • Rachel Kohl, agricultural technology; and
  • Thomas Martin, agricultural technology.

Promotion to associate professor of practice:

  • Victoria Mouras, civil and environmental engineering.

Promotion to associate professor (continued appointment):

  • Kyrille Goldbeck-DeBose, University Libraries.

Promotion to senior Extension agent:

  • Christopher Lichty, Pulaski County Cooperative Extension; and
  • Carrie Swanson, Albemarle County Cooperative Extension.

Promotion to Extension agent:

  • Kaila Anglin, Clarke County Cooperative Extension;
  • Matt Booher, Augusta County Cooperative Extension;
  • Tara Brent, Northumberland County Cooperative Extension;
  • Christopher Brown, Halifax County Cooperative Extension;
  • Nicole Clem, Page County Cooperative Extension;
  • Kelsey Grimes, Wythe County Cooperative Extension;
  • Rachel Grosse, Powhatan County Cooperative Extension;
  • Cynthia Martel, Franklin County Cooperative Extension;
  • Haley Norton, Nottoway County Cooperative Extension;
  • Stephanie Romelczyk, Westmoreland County Cooperative Extension;
  • Laura Siegle, Amelia County Cooperative Extension;
  • Mark Sutphin, Frederick County Cooperative Extension;
  • Karen Tanner, Amherst County Cooperative Extension;
  • Lindy Tucker, Lunenburg County Cooperative Extension; and
  • Alyssa Walden, Stafford County Cooperative Extension.

The Office of the Provost provided the information for this story. Content-related questions should be directed to Cyndi Hutchison at 540-231-2350.