Virginia Tech™home

Attendees of the CCI Blueprint Retreat

Advisory Council
Executive Committee
Research and Technology Commercialization working group
Educational Programs and Experiential Learning working group
Partnerships and Investment working group
Finance and Government Relations working group

Higher Education

1.      Scott Bevins, Vice Provost for Information Services, UVA at Wise (AC, EPEL)

2.     Christine Callsen, Chief of Staff, Hume Center, Virginia Tech

3.     Jenny Carter, Director of Workforce Partnerships and Projects, Virginia Community College System (PI)

4.     Charles Clancy, Director, Hume Center for National Security, Virginia Tech (AC, EC, RTC)

5.     Cyril Clarke, Interim Executive Vice President and Provost, Virginia Tech (EPEL)

6.     Matthew Conrad, Director of Government and Board Relations, Virginia Commonwealth University (FGR)

7.     Deb Crawford, Vice President for Research, George Mason University (remote, AC, EC, RTC)

8.     Liza Wilson Durant, Associate Dean, Strategic Initiatives and Community Engagement, George Mason University (EPEL)

9.     Chip Filer, Associate Vice President for Economic Development, Old Dominion University (RTC)

10.  Sarah Hayes, Hume Center, Virginia Tech

11.  Bill Hazel, Senior Advisor for Strategic Initiatives and Policy, George Mason University (PI)

12.  Keith Holland, Associate Professor and Assistant Head, Department of Engineering; Interim Vice Provost, James Madison University (RTC, remote)

13.  Elizabeth Hooper, Director of State Relations, Virginia Tech  (remote, FGR)

14.  Mary Ann Hoppa, Associate Professor, Computer Science, Norfolk State University (PI)

15.  John Leonard, Associate Dean for Finance and Administration, College of Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University (FGR)

16.  Robert Lewis, Chair, Department of Computer Science, College of William and Mary (remote, AC)

17.  Chad Knights, Interim Dean for the Division of Science, Technology, and Business, Northern Virginia Community College

18.  Theresa Mayer, Vice President for Research and Innovation, Virginia Tech (AC, EC)

19.  Steve McKnight, Vice President of the National Capital Region, Virginia Tech (RTC)

20.  Laurel Miner, Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation, Virginia Tech

21.  Jeff McClurken, Professor and Special Assistant to the Provost for Teaching, Technology, and Innovation, University of Mary Washington (standing in for Keith Mellinger, AC, EPEL)

22.  Brian Payne, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Old Dominion University (AC, EC, EPEL)

23.  Scott Ralls, President, Northern Virginia Community College (remote, AC, EC)

24.  Melur Ramasubramanian, Vice President for Research, University of Virginia (AC, EC)

25.  Toni Riedel, Chair, Department of Physics, Computer Science and Engineering, Christopher Newport University (AC, EPEL)

26.  Brandy Salmon, Associate Vice President for Innovation and Partnerships, Virginia Tech (PI)

27.  Tim Sands, President, Virginia Tech

28.  Dwight Shelton, Vice President for Finance and CFO, Virginia Tech (FGR)

29.  Sharon Simmons, Department Head, Computer Science, James Madison University (AC, EC, PI)

30.  Erdem Topsakal, Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University (AC, EC)

31.  Eric Weisel, Research Associate Professor, Virginia Modeling, Analysis & Simulation Center, Old Dominion University

32.  Aurelia Williams, Director, Cybersecurity Complex, Norfolk State University (AC, FGR)

33.  Hank Kentchington

Government & Nonprofit

1.     Peter Blake, Director, SCHEV, Chair, VRIC (AC)

2.     Jim Dyke, Member, VRIC, Member, GoVirginia, Senior Advisor, Virginia State Government Relations, McGuireWoods Consulting LLC (AC, EC)

3.     Eileen Ellsworth, President, Community Foundation for Northern Virginia (AC)

4.     Megan Healy, Chief Workforce Advisor, Governor Northam (AC)

5.     Bobbie Kilberg, President and CEO, Northern Virginia Technology Council (AC, EC, FGR)

6.     Lynn Seuffert, Associate for Research Investment, SCHEV (AC)

7.     Jennifer Thornton, Greater Washington Partnership (EPEL)


1.     Simone Acha, Owner, Simone Acha Consulting (RTC)

2.     Leigh Armistead, President, Peregrine Solutions (AC, EPEL)

3.     Shawn Avery, President and CEO, Opportunity Inc. (AC)

4.     Greg Baroni, Chairman and CEO, Attain, LLC (AC)

5.     Rodney Blevins, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Dominion Energy (, AC, EC)

6.     Gabriel Galvin, Executive Director, The MITRE Corporation (RTC)

7.     Tracy Gregorio, President, G2 Ops Inc. (AC, EC, PI)

8.     Peter Hesse, Chief Security Officer, 10Pearls (AC)

9.     Mark Mykityshyn, Executive Director and CEO, Tangible Security (RTC)

10.  Michael Papay, Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Northrop Grumman (AC, RTC)

11.  Todd Rowley, Senior Vice President, United Bank (AC)

12.  Todd Stottlemyer, Chief Executive Officer, Inova Center for Personalized Health (AC, EC)

13.  Ed Swallow, Senior Vice President of Civil Systems Group, The Aerospace Corporation (RTC)

14.  Thomas Weithman, President and Chief Investment Officer, MACH37; Managing Director and Vice President, Center for Innovative Technology (RTC)

15.  John Wood, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Telos (AC, EC)